My brain hurts.

Source Code is like Groundhog Day meets Inception meets Mission Impossible meets The Polar Express.  Despite the infuriating number of commercials you’ve seen for this movie, you don’t understand it.  I watched it and I still don’t totally understand it.  A good movie is one that leaves the theater with you.  I’m not talking those dime-a-dozen, sorority-girl-in-an-empty-haunted-house, how-long-can-we-hold-this-dissonant-violin-chord-until-you-wet-your-pants-when-something-jumps-out movies. I’m talking one that really makes you think.  Source Code makes you think not only about the time-bending physics in it, but about your own morals.  Source Code is one of those movies I can’t say too much about though, because it places you right in the middle of the action, and the rest of the movie is spent trying to figure out exactly what the hell is going on.  That’s why the movie is so much fun.  I will warn you though, I may be just too sensitive, but I was choked up and on the verge of a lone tear rolling down my face for a good 15 minutes of it, if you don’t want to cry in front of your friends, wear 3D glasses or something.

In the foreground, Jake Gyllenhaal. In the background, the plot twist.

As far as acting, Jake Gyllenhaal who plays the protagonist Captain Colter Stevens drives the show, his emotional performance is outstanding, much better than I have come to expect from him recently.  Any man who can bring a tear to my eye is a good actor.  Supported by Vera Farmiga in the role of Colleen Goodwin, and Michele Monaghan as the love interest Christina Warren, I thought Farmiga had a strong performance, communicating a lot without words in a script that was somewhat sparse for her.  Monaghan was solid, but the character was a little one dimensional, probably due to the writing, and her chemistry with Gyllenhaal seemed a little forced.  Finally, Jeffrey Wright, who played Dr. Rutledge, the man in charge of the operation, was a little over the top for my tastes, playing a character who was a bit too much of a weird douche to be believable.

Visually the movie wasn’t too spectacular, limited by it’s plot to a few choice locations, but the special effects were good, and my disbelief was successfully suspended throughout the movie.  It might have been a factor of the projector in my movie theater, but one annoying thing I noticed was some distracting motion blur in a couple scenes.  Again, it might have been a factor of my theater’s projector, and it was a minor thing, but I thought it was at least worth mentioning.

I also wished it had had a little more comic relief, but I’m sort of a movie sap, and I don’t like things that are too sad.  It wasn’t TOO sad, but, well, yeah.

Overall, in case you couldn’t tell already, I highly recommend seeing Source Code, and then probably watching it again after that.  Definitely worth the price of admission.

8.9/10

I have time to write this, but not my papers…

?,

-Andrew

