Let me start off by saying I  had no interest in seeing this movie.  I think it might have been because of the fact that I am reluctant to acknowledge accomplishments greater than my own.  I don’t find prodigies cute because when I was ten all I did was play Zoo Tycoon and watch the Magic School bus, and this jerk is a master piano player???  So Mark Zuckerberg being a Harvard prodigy was a turnoff.  Oh, he’s also the youngest billionaire in history.  Besides, the pretentiousness and hype behind the movie was incredible, a metaphor for our entire generation? Seems a bit strong for a movie.  Ah but it’s not a movie, according to the writing on the disc it’s a “film,” which is inherently better than a silly old movie I guess.  But, I knew it would probably win best picture at the Academy awards, so I felt obligated to watch it, like I owed it to society or something.

And so I did.

Aaron Sorkin’s screenplay and dialog in the movie were superb, the lines were rapid fire and well delivered by everyone in the film.  I was sucked in from the get go, even with the potentially less than exciting premise.  The pacing of the movie was good, and it never felt drawn out, even a little abruptly ended if anything.  The acting was good all around, most notably Jesse Eisenberg, and an emotional performance by newcomer Andrew Marvell (who is also starring as Peter Parker in the new untitled Spiderman reboot, set to come out sometime in 2012.) I didn’t hate it as much as I expected, there wasn’t a snooty, Facebook is transcendentally representative of our generation message like I expected.  The movie did have one unexpected side effect however, it made me want to get rid of my Facebook.

Mark Zuckerberg (Jesse Eisenberg) along with Sean Parker, founder ofTotal douches. Napster and douchebag extraordinaire (well played by Justin Timberlake) were the villains of the movie. Basically the plot of the movie was the tale of how Mark Zuckerberg is a genius prick who stole the idea for Facebook from some frat guys and then screws his best friend Eduardo Saverin(Andrew Garfield) out of the company that he started.  I was rooting for Saverin the entire time, and I hoped he would destroy Mark and Facebook altogether.  I realized that if that had actually happened, I wouldn’t have a Facebook today, but I didn’t care, that’s how big of a douche Mark Zuckerberg was/is.

Of course, it wasn’t enough to make me actually delete my Facebook, I would have a Facebook if Satan was the owner. However, if there was such a thing as Eduardobook, I would join straight away.

The Verdict:

On a scale of ”        ” to “ZOMG BEST MOVIE EVAR!!!” I would give it a “ZOMG BEST MOVIE”.   In other words, Redbox it sometime. It’s worth watching, though for me it didn’t quite live up to the hype.  My world remains undefined.

