If there’s anything I can take from today, it’s that I can now definitively say “cold as BALLS” has a new meaning in my mind.

I even went to bed early last night so I could get the most out of my snow day (adorable right??). I set out early in the morning to document Snowpocalypse 2011 with my video camera, spending half my time trying to figure out how to wear a scarf; because everyone knows in a blizzard, style points are everything right?  Side note about scarves, scarfs, whatever: Is it possible to wear a scarf without looking like you just stepped out of a Twilight midnight release party or a symposium on the literary stylings of James Joyce?  How are you even supposed to wear them? Scarves remain a pretentious mystery to me.  Anywho, when I left my dorm, ski pants on, scarf wrapped awkwardly around my face,  I was prepared for the worst cold I could imagine.  However I, being the warm-blooded Okie I am, had no idea what cold was.

My roommate Allen keeping his cool in the blizzard. Get it. Cool. Snow.

Wind chill at a balmy -15°F with 33 mph wind gusts, and the memory of Saturday’s sunny 77° fresh on my mind, the beautiful campus of Oklahoma State had become a deserted, frozen tundra.  In seconds  had snotcicles in my nose and my sideburns had become iceburns.  But, pocket video camera in hand, I soldiered on, determined to bring the world video evidence of this frozen hellscape.  I went back out with my roommate later and filmed some shenanigans, but yeah, cold the likes of which I have never experienced.  I was legitimately concerned about frostbite. In OKLAHOMA. 

Also, sledding is always worth the risk. Always. This afternoon my roommate Allen and I walked half a mile to a sledding hill, made a snow ramp, and our sledding was so epic that the total strangers around us started filming us.  My motto is do it big, and it isn’t over until the ice melts out of your sideburns.

I’m not sure how much one person can read about snow before they puke, so I’ll end this post now.

-Andrew

P.S. The soundtrack to my snow day is Ben Fold’s Lonely Avenue, great CD.

P.P.S. This was a crappy blog post, I feel like it was more of a diary entry. I’m new to this whole blog thing, so you can just take your judgmental face somewhere else.

